Student Senate & Caucuses

union theological seminary boasts a rich array of student organizations, which are designed to meet the needs and address the concerns of a variety of student demographics and interests. each official caucus has voting rights in the student senate, is accountable to the student body through reports given at student senate meetings, and receives a budget from the student senate. the student organizations provide a valuable avenue by which students may grow deeper in community and common purpose.

student senate 2020 – 2021

executive committee

senate co-chairs

nordia bennett (contact)
hannah ervin (contact)


jesse ortiz  (contact)


shalom kristanugraha (contact)

ministers of fun

bridget webster (contact) & Ryan Felder (contact)

student senate representatives*

representative at large: john duque
1st year ma: suntina spehar
1st year mdiv: janay salcedo
2nd year ma: brandon roiger
2nd year mdiv: oriana mayorga
3rd year mdiv: ekama eni
phd: christiaan faul
msw/mdiv: carly reiner

academic affairs committee (mdiv rep): oriana mayorga
academic affairs committee (phd rep): ban btang
academic affairs committee (ma rep): fynn adomeit

buildings and grounds: Mimi Tohill & Dan DeBrucker
development committee: Kimberly Gordy & Monique Fortune
educational policy committee: john duque
investment committee: *elected rep has asked for more time to decide. this position will be announced at a later date.*
strategic planning implementation committee: Nova Sturrup & Anne Conger
union medal committee: oriana mayorga
columbia interschool governing board: dan debrucker

student caucuses

Asian & Pacific Islander Caucus | Sulkiro Song & Stephaya George

black caucus | galvin mathis

black women’s caucus | Vanessa Lindley & Kimberley Gordy

body caucus | carly reiner & Hannah Lundberg

disability justice caucus | Naomi Madaras & Rebekah Anderson

eco-justice caucus | ryan feldar

fierce, the caucus for queer people of color | joshuah campbell

friends by the river | Dan DeBrucker-Cota & Stephen Crouch

interfaith caucus | ian storey

international students caucus | fynn adomeit, Ana Lopez & Philip Oladele

latinx caucus | jesse ortiz & oriana mayorga

partners and family | monique fortune

persist, the caucus for gender equality | inactive

pub | alyssa terry & carly reiner

queer caucus | alyssa terry

tech/ai caucus | tess gallagher clancy

arts caucus | inactive

practical theology | inactive

seminarians for reproductive justice | inactive

students for peace and justice | inactive

the union voice | inactive

Theology, Science & Religion | inactive

transgender nonconforming (tgnc) | inactive

get the latest news and events in your inbox